The AGA Distinguished Lectures

Distinguished Lecturer 2022

David Haig was born in Canberra and grew up in Sydney. He received his degrees from Macquarie University. He was a Royal Society Endeavour Fellow at Oxford and then a Junior Fellow in the Harvard Society of Fellows. He is now George Putnam Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology and chair of the Australian Studies Committee at Harvard University. His main research interests are maternal-fetal relations, intragenomic conflict, and the evolution of plant life cycles. He still misses Aussie birdlife.



Previous Lecturers: [Bold names: An article based on the lecture is available from the Journal of Heredity online archives.  Access is free for AGA members.]

2021 Lisette Waits
2020 Allen Moore
2019 Sarah (Sally) Otto
2018 Ole Seehausen
2017 Loeske Kruuk
2016 Victoria Sork
2015 Mark Kirkpatrick
2014 David Reznick
2013 Sergey Gavrilets
2012 Brian Charlesworth
2011 Robert K. Wayne

2010 Oliver Ryder
2009 Annie Schmidt
2008 Mariana Wolfner
2007 Sally Otto
2006 Allen Orr
2005 June Nasrallah
2004 Walter Gehring
2003 James F. Crow
2002 Barbara Schaal
2001 Masatoshi Nei

2000 Terry Burke
1999 Walter Fitch
1998 Jeffrey Palmer
1997 John Avise
1996 Hampton Carson
1995 Fotis Kafatos
1994 Michael Clegg
1993 Charles S. Levings III
1992 Theodore R. F. Wright
1991 Margaret G. Kidwell

1990 William Provine
1989 Norman Giles
1988 Allan Wilson
1987 Robert W. Allard

1986 Bruce Wallace
1985 Francisco J. Ayala
1984 Harry Harris
1983 Ray D. Owen
1982 James V. Neel
1981 Clement L. Markert

1980 Edward O. Wilson
1979 Victor A. McKusick
1978 D. K. Balyaev
1977 Margery Shaw
1975 Jack R. Harlan
1974 Walter E. Heston
1972 James F. Crow
1971 Harold H. Smith

1970 Marvin S. Legator
1969 John H. Heller
1968 Arno G. Motulsky
1967 Samuel H. Boyer

1966 Leslie C. Dunn
1965 Rollin D. Hotchkiss
1962 Sheldon C. Reed