Publishers of the Journal of Heredity
Join the AGA

The AGA Key Distinguished Lectures

Key Distinguished Lecturer 2020

Allen J. Moore is a Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Entomology and the Associate Dean for Research in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences at the University of Georgia (USA). He began his career in the Department of Entomology at the University of Kentucky (USA) and then moved to the University of Manchester (UK) where he was Professor of Evolutionary Biology. He then moved to the University of Exeter (UK) where he was Professor of Evolutionary Genetics before returning to the USA in 2011. His research focuses on theoretical, quantitative genetic, and molecular genetic studies of evolutionary biology and behavior. His group studies the genetics and evolution of social interactions, focusing on sexual selection, parenting, mating behavior, and communication. A current focus is on the interplay between genes and behavioral flexibility. While at the University of Kentucky, he originated the theory of interacting phenotypes, incorporating indirect genetic effects (IGE) into models of social evolution, with Butch Brodie and Jason Wolf. Dr. Moore served as Secretary of the Society for the Study of Evolution, Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Evolutionary Biology and is currently Editor-in-Chief of the open access journal Ecology and Evolution.

This lecture series was initially funded by a bequest to the AGA from Dr. Wilhemine Key for support of genetics initiatives for human welfare and improvement. Dr. Key earned her PhD from the University of Chicago in 1901, and taught at Lombard College, where Sewell Wright was her student. She later carried out pedigree studies of pioneer families that had emigrated from Germany to Pennsylvania in the late 18th century.

Previous Key Lecturers: [Bold names: An article based on the lecture is available from the Journal of Heredity online archives.  Access is free for AGA members.]

2019 Sarah (Sally) Otto
2018 Ole Seehausen
2017 Loeske Kruuk
2016 Victoria Sork
2015 Mark Kirkpatrick
2014 David Reznick
2013 Sergey Gavrilets
2012 Brian Charlesworth
2011 Robert K. Wayne

2010 Oliver Ryder
2009 Annie Schmidt
2008 Mariana Wolfner
2007 Sally Otto
2006 Allen Orr
2005 June Nasrallah
2004 Walter Gehring
2003 James F. Crow
2002 Barbara Schaal
2001 Masatoshi Nei

2000 Terry Burke
1999 Walter Fitch
1998 Jeffrey Palmer
1997 John Avise
1996 Hampton Carson
1995 Fotis Kafatos
1994 Michael Clegg
1993 Charles S. Levings III
1992 Theodore R. F. Wright
1991 Margaret G. Kidwell

1990 William Provine
1989 Norman Giles
1988 Allan Wilson
1987 Robert W. Allard

1986 Bruce Wallace
1985 Francisco J. Ayala
1984 Harry Harris
1983 Ray D. Owen
1982 James V. Neel
1981 Clement L. Markert

1980 Edward O. Wilson
1979 Victor A. McKusick
1978 D. K. Balyaev
1977 Margery Shaw
1975 Jack R. Harlan
1974 Walter E. Heston
1972 James F. Crow
1971 Harold H. Smith

1970 Marvin S. Legator
1969 John H. Heller
1968 Arno G. Motulsky
1967 Samuel H. Boyer

1966 Leslie C. Dunn
1965 Rollin D. Hotchkiss
1962 Sheldon C. Reed


AGA Member Benefits

Join the AGA or renew your membership

Any questions?  Contact the Managing Editor at